Neural 53, Obfuscate or Die

Neural 53 cover

Issue #53, Winter 2016 ISSN: 2037-108X

The new Neural issue is hot from the press.

Subscribe now! because only subscribers will get a free USB drive by artist Nicolas Maigret containing The Pirate Book pdf and source materials (produced by Aksioma).

You can also subscribe to the magazine Digital Edition accessing all issues since #29.
Or you can buy the magazine from the closest of the almost 300 stores stocking it. A back issues pack is available.


  • Mushon Zer Aviv
  • Finn Brunton and Helen Nissenbaum
  • Francisco López
  • Benjamin Grosser
  • Jacob Kirkegaard
  • Nick Montfort


  • MemeCity, “HackingRealities,” Hangzhou
  • “GetA-life!” Piksel 2015, Bergen
  • “Renewable Futures”, Riga


  • Kopimashin, Accelerating the Unstoppable Copying
  • The Obsolescence Project, The Visual Quality of being Old
  • Deep Sweep, The Mirror Behind the Data
  • Project Dust, Materialising pollution weight
  • Conventions of Tiny Movements, Objects, subjects, spies
  • The Architecture of Radio, Waves are Among Us
  • Message Past Future, Corrupted Tomorrows
  • cellF, External Brain Improvisation
  • 20 Oscillators in 20 Minutes, Radically Performing Electronics
  • Time and Tide Bell, Ringing the Reason
  • Data Drops, Emotions Rendering in Liquid Colours
  • The Space Between Us, Lovers’ Direction
  • Barents (mare incognitum), Losing the Borders
  • Spectra-3, I want communicate with you
  • Infinity Room, unquantifiable time and space


  • Offline Eye / Wi-Fi Organs, Out of Body Experience


  • Edited by Femke Snelting, Christoph Haag / Conversations
  • Athina Karatzogianni / Firebrand Waves of Digital Activism 1994-2014 : The Rise and Spread of Hacktivism and Cyberconflict
  • Tung-hui Hu / A Prehistory of the Cloud
  • Paul Stephens / The Poetics of Information Overload : from Gertrude Stein to conceptual writing
  • David M. Berry and Michael Dieter / Postdigital Aesthetics : art, computation and design
  • Nina Sun Eidsheim / Sensing Sound : singing & listening as vibrational practice
  • Edited by Theresa Beyer, Thomas Burkhalter, Hannes Liechti / Seismographic sounds : visions of a new world : Norient 015
  • Edited by Gordon Mumma / Cybersonic Arts: Adventures in American New Music
  • Bruckner / Happy End
  • Edited by Cornelia Lund and Ana Carvalho / The Audiovisual Breakthrough
  • Oliver Botar / Sensing the Future: Moholy-Nagy, Media and the Arts
  • Jussi Parikka / A Geology of Media
  • Edited by Regine Rapp and Christian de Lutz / [macro]biologies & [micro]biologies. Art and the Biological Sublime in the 21st Century
  • Edited by Wendy Hui Kyong Chun, Anna Watkins Fisher, Thomas Keenan / New Media, Old Media: A History and Theory Reader
  • Zabet Patterson / Peripheral Vision: Bell Labs, the S-C 4020, and the Origins of Computer Art

cd reviews

  • Frank Bretschneider: Isolation: LINE
  • Jean-Luc Fafchamps: Gentle Electronics: Sub Rosa
  • Peter Prautzsch: Fever Drawings: Palacmusic
  • Simon Whetham: What Matters Is That It Matters: Baskaru
  • Jonas Olesen: Piece For Corroded Digital Audio Tape: BIN
  • Steve Roden + Mem1: A Floating Wave Of Air: Estuary Ltd.
  • Keda: Hwal: Parentheses
  • Uncodified: Hardcore Methodology: Elettronica Radicale
  • Ivan Iusco: Transients: Minus Habens
  • Drumcorps: Falling Forward: Ad Noiseam
  • VVAA: Sound Art China | Revolutions Per Minute: Post Concrete
  • VVAA: Psychonavigation (2000-2015) Mixed by DJ Food / Strictly Kev: Psychonavigation
  • Mario Diaz De Leon: The Soul Is The Arena: Denovali
  • Ivar Grydeland: Stop Freeze Wait Eat: Hubro
  • Jenny Pickett & Julien Ottavi: Electromagnetic Collective: Fibrr
  • Taylor Deupree & Marcus Fischer: Twine: 12K
  • Lars Graugaard & Thomas Hejlesen: Tears Of Dionysius: Clang
  • VVAA: Landscapes Of Fear: Gruenrekorder
  • Irmler / Einheit: Bestandteil: Klangbad
  • The Balustrade Ensemble: Renewed Brilliance: Serein